The University of Auckland is a diverse student community of many. The Student Council is a key way of capturing the views of our diverse student communities. We then use feedback from our Student Council in submissions and presentations that we make to the University’s highest decision-making bodies and committees.

The AUSA Student Council was formed as a result of AUSA’s constitutional changes in early 2019. The Council is made up of the Presidents of Faculty Associations (and, where a Faculty has no Faculty Associations, the relevant School Associations) and Representative Groups from across the University. 

The Student Council has been vital to a lot of AUSA’s wins, including the grade bump in Semester 1 of 2020, which was a direct result of our powerful, collective student voice.

Student Council Meeting Dates 2024

The following is a list of preliminary dates which may be subject to change based on the availability of members. All meetings will be held on a Tuesday at 6pm unless otherwise specified. The location is yet to be confirmed. Agenda items are always welcome, please send these through to AUSA’s Education Vice President, Layba Zubair, at

Preliminary dates:

  • Tuesday, February 20th, 2024
  • Tuesday, March 19th, 2024
  • Tuesday, April 16th, 2024
  • Tuesday, May 21st, 2024
  • Tuesday, June 25th, 2024
  • Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024
  • Tuesday August 20th, 2024
  • Tuesday, September 24th, 2024
  • Tuesday, October 15th, 2024

Student Council Meeting Minutes can be found on the Documents page.

Student Council Documents

Student Council Members

Alan Shaker (he/him)

AUSA President (Chair)

Andrea Va’ai

Pacific Island Students' Officer

Anna Sue

AUSA Women's Rights Officer

Anotida Chitando

Co-President of Science Students' Association - SciSA

Ben Bonné

AUSA Postgraduate Students Officer

Mandy Peng

President of Students of Urban Planning and Architecture - SUPA

Emily McIntosh

President of Nurses of Auckland University Student Association

Hector Leong

President of New Zealand Optometry Students' Society - NZOSS

Isabel Possenniskie

President of Auckland University Global Studies Society

Jack Chen

Co-President of Science Students' Association - SciSA

Jennifer Setefano

AUSA Welfare VP

Julia Stjärnhage (she/her)

President of the Postgraduate Students' Association - PGSA

June Jeong

President of the Student Association for the Medical Sciences

Lachlan Markovina

President of Auckland University Medical Students' Association

Layba Zubair

AUSA Education Vice President

Mauricio Lozano

AUSA Student Voice Manager

Nicole Lay

President of Auckland University's Population Health Students' Association

Raewyn Wang

President of Medical Imaging Students Association

Ruchitha Narayan

Co-President Auckland University Commerce Students' Association

Sarah White

AUSA Treasurer/Secretary

Thomas George

Co-President of Auckland University Commerce Students' Association

Tiran Archary

President of Auckland Pharmacy Students' Association

Will Dalzell

President of Auckland University Law Students' Society